Ohio Area Codes Infographic

Ohio is one of the most densely populated states in the United States. Its largest cities include Columbus, Cleveland, Cincinnati, and Toledo. Thanks to the state’s geographic position, Ohio has become a center of commerce in the country, which has led to fast population growth in the region. Four area codes were originally introduced in Ohio in 1947 to support the population — 216, 419, 513, and 614. By 2016, the number of area codes in the state had grown to 12.

Area code 216 serves Cleveland and the suburbs in Cuyahoga County. This area code was created to serve all of northeastern Ohio, but in 1996, the southern part was split with an area code 330 introduction. Area code 513 covers southwestern Ohio, including Cincinnati. This area added a 937 area code as an overlay in 1996. Area code 614 serves the southeastern region of Ohio, from Columbus to the Ohio River. This region was split in 1998 to create area code 740 and then overlaid by area code 380 in 2016. Area code 419 covers the northwestern quadrant of Ohio, including Toledo. The area code overlay 567 came into effect in 2002.

As a state’s population grows, more area codes may be needed to accommodate the increase in telephone numbers. To learn more about the population growth in Ohio and anticipated area code needs, explore the following Ohio area codes infographic. You’ll also get to discover fun facts about the current area codes and how they have changed over the years.